Rabbits, Rabbits, Everywhere!

This was too cute to not share.  We don’t see wild rabbits very often anymore, probably due to the feral cat population.  So my husband actually called me from his car to check out the rabbit in our front yard.  Something look familiar?

IMG_0951

She was running it right back to the same spot under the tree.  I daresay, we’re going to be having baby rabbits in the front yard soon.  (And please forgive me on the long grass – we’ve had a ton of rain, and it’s only been a week and a half since I mowed.  Haven’t been able to do it again because it’s been too wet.)   I’m going to have to resist the urge to look, as I don’t think a wild rabbit will be as forgiving with her babies being disturbed.  The other nice thing is that it’s not in the BACK yard, so as long as they don’t do something dumb – (i.e. go in the back yard), they’ll be safe from the dogs.

Otherwise, everything is going well here.  The newest litter is squarely in the “So cute my cheeks are going to burst” stage.  All 7 are still surviving, and harassing Little Mama.  No litter from Big Mama yet, but she should be due either tonight or tomorrow night.  Part of the fun is finding out how many she’ll have.  She’s not as..bulbous as last time, so I’m thinking less than 8.

No more bites on selling the rabbits, which is fine.  I expect it’ll take some time, if at all.  Not many people selling around the area, but supply tends to reflect demand.  We need to fill our freezer, anyways!  The older kits are growing well.  I suppose I can start calling them “Juniors” soon.  (That’s what they’ll be until 6 months, at which point they’re technically “seniors”.)

 

IMG_0931

We actually had a somewhat hot day, so I put a frozen gallon jug in the hutch for them to cool off by/lick/explore.

 

 

IMG_0929

Bunny Photobomb!

 

 

IMG_0926

And…pile of fuzz.

 

That’s it for now, kind of in a holding pattern.  I’m going to hold off on the automatic watering system for now, though I’ll start planning it soon and pricing it.  Hopefully tomorrow or the next I’ll have a new litter to report on!

 

One comment on “Rabbits, Rabbits, Everywhere!

  1. LuckyRobin says:

    I saw a wild rabbit in the front yard here, too. But it was only an adolescent. We get them often, because they have a warren nearby.

Leave a Reply

